At present, IT companies choose to employ candidates who can enforce Scrum and Agile in difficult situations. PSM I and CSM are two distinct types of certifications for becoming a Scrum Master. Both these certifications are given by eminent government bodies.

Many are confused about which certification to choose: PSM I (Professional Scrum Master I) or CSM (Certified Scrum Master)? Before choosing you must realize why you need a particular certification? The apparent intentions might be you are interested in Scrum or you are seeking the Scrum Master’s position in some company. This blog helps you to understand which certification to pursue to increase your career potential.

PSM I ( Professional Scrum Master I):

PSM I assessment is attainable to all those who wish to assess their in-depth knowledge of the framework of PictureScrum. If you clear the assessment, then you will receive the PSM I certification which is recognized by the industries to indicate your basic level of mastery in Scrum.

CSM (Certified Scrum Master):

If you are willing to accept Agile and carry out Scrum or want the tools required to do Scrum in a better way, then CSM is the best option for you. When you pass this course, you will have an in-depth knowledge of Scrum and also how to implicate it to lead your team and company.

Now let’s try to understand more about both these courses

PSM I (Professional Scrum Master I):

● Governing body – PSM I is given by This certification is recognized by the industries and demonstrates the basic level of mastery in Scrum.
● Certification process – The professionals can opt for the PSM I examination directly to become PSM I. Yet, there are several courses available to enable you to prepare for the examination and acquire a stronger knowledge of Scrum. As you clear the PSM I assessment and gain the certification, you will be designated as PMI l (Professional Scrum Master I) by
● Format of the exam – The PSM I examination comprises Multiple Answers, Multiple Choices, and True/False. You have to answer 80 questions in 60 minutes. The score has to be 85% to clear the exam. You have one attempt for free and the certification has lifetime validity.
● After pursuing the certification – Once you receive PSM I certification, you can apply for PSM II (Professional Scrum Master II) and PSM III (Professional Scrum Master III) certification courses.

CSM (Certified Scrum Master):

● Governing body – CSM is given by Scrum Alliance. This certification is the top 1 choice among all the Scrum certifications worldwide.
● Certification process – The professionals must attend live sessions, understand the lesson insights, prepare for the exam, clear CSM, and pursue the certificate. You will receive the CSM certification through email. As you clear the CSM examination and gain the certification, you will be designated as CSM (Certified Scrum Master) by the Scrum Alliance.
● Format of the exam – The CSM examination comprises Multiple Choice Questions. You have to answer 50 questions in 60 minutes. The score has to be 74% to clear the exam. 37 out of 50 questions have to be answered correctly. You have two attempts for free and the validity of the certification is two years (renewal is required).
● After pursuing the certification – Once you receive CSM certification, you can apply for A-CSM (Advanced Certified Scrum Master), and CSP-SM (Certified Scrum Professional – Scrum Master) certification courses.

How ShriLearning can help you to attain your career goals: Thousands of professionals have been trained by ShriLearning worldwide. We facilitate virtual sessions across the countries and believe in sharing diverse and broad expertise in implementation. We conduct webinars for doubt clarification. You can watch our live sessions on YouTube. Our Agile coach helps you to build your career path in the right way in Agile and Scrum.


As you have understood, both PSM I and CSM certifications play a vital role based on the needs of the organization. As a professional, it should be your goal to be certified by showcasing your capabilities so that you can be ahead of others in a competitive world.

The demand for CSM certification courses is more in the market when compared to the other Scrum certifications as it opens up several job opportunities globally. Your profile will be shortlisted easily for potential Scrum Master roles if you pursue this certification.